2016-17 Accrediting Council Decisions

The Accrediting Council made 30 accreditation decisions on 24 schools at its April 28 meeting.

First-time accreditation review:

University of North Florida, Department of Communication was fully accredited.
St. Bonaventure University, Jandoli School of Communication was given provisional status for both the undergraduate and professional master’s programs. As such, the school’s undergraduate and professional master’s programs have no accreditation standing. The school has two years to address deficiencies or will be denied accreditation.

Removed from provisional status and fully re-accredited:

San Jose State University, School of Journalism and Mass Communications
University of South Dakota, Department of Media and Journalism
University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire, Department of Communication and Journalism

Re-accredited undergraduate programs:

Colorado State University, Department of Journalism and Media Communication
Drake University, School of Journalism and Mass Communication
Middle Tennessee State University, School of Journalism
Norfolk State University, Department of Mass Communications and Journalism
Shippensburg University, Department of Communication/Journalism
Southeast Missouri State, Department of Mass Media
Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville, Department of Mass Communications
St. Cloud State University, Department of Mass Communications
University of Iowa, School of Journalism and Mass Communication
University of Kansas, William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications
University of Mississippi, Edwin and Becky Meek School of Journalism and New Media
University of Nebraska, College of Journalism and Mass Communications
University of Tennessee, Knoxville, School of Advertising and Public Relations and the School of Journalism and Electronic Media

Re-accredited undergraduate and professional master’s programs:

Arizona State University, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication
University of Colorado, Department of Journalism
University of Missouri, School of Journalism
University of South Carolina, School of Journalism and Mass Communications
University of Southern California, School of Journalism

Denied re-accreditation:

Grambling State University’s Department of Mass Communications was denied re-accreditation by the Accrediting Council, citing noncompliance with Standard 1, Mission, Governance and Administration and noncompliance with Standard 9, Assessment of Learning Outcomes, as well as other weaknesses identified during the program review.