

Newsletter of the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications

2017-18 Site Visit Schedule

* Denotes an initial accreditation visit

Oct. 15-18 University of Georgia

University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Oct. 22-25 Elon University

The University of Montana

Oct. 29-Nov. 1 Virginia Commonwealth University

Nicholls State University

Nov. 5-8 Eastern Illinois University

South Dakota State University

Nov. 12-15 New York University

Jan. 21-24 Southern University and A&M College

University of Arizona

Jan. 28-31 University of Florida

Auburn University

Feb. 4-7 Florida A&M University

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras Campus

Feb. 11-14 * University of Puerto Rico, Turabo

Revisits: -

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville

High Point University

North Carolina A&T University
Bowling Green State University
Tayon Christian University

Texas Christian University

Vol. 23 #3 November 2016

> 2017 CALENDAR

Council meetings

Friday-Saturday, April 28-29 Westin Hotel Chicago

Friday, August 25 Westin Hotel Chicago

Committee meeting

Saturday, March 25 Westin Hotel Chicago

PROGRAM UPDATES

Nikhil Moro was named chair of the Department of Mass Communications and Journalism at Norfolk State University. Moro replaces Cathy Jackson, who had served as interim chair.

Reginald Franklin

is the interim chair of the Department of Journalism and Mas Communications at Savannah State University. Franklin replaces Wanda Lloyd, who retired as department chair but remains on the faculty.

Essam Nasr is serving as acting dean of the College of Communication at the University of Sharjah. Nasr replaces Abderrahmane Azzi.

Mike Milford, associate professor, will serve as interim chair of the School of Communication and Journalism at Auburn University during the 2016-17 academic year. Jennifer Adams, chair, is on research leave.

MEMBERSHIP DUES REMINDER:

The deadline for all accredited program and member association dues was **Nov. 1.** Contact Cheryl Klug at cklug@ku.edu or 785-864-3973 with questions.

2016-17 site visits underway

* Seeking initial accreditation

Oct.	9-12	University of Missouri Southeast Missouri State University
	16-19	University of Southern California University of Iowa * University of North Florida
Oct. 30-Nov. 2		University of Kansas University of Mississippi
Nov.	13-16	Colorado State University Southern Illinois Univ., Edwardsville Middle Tennessee State University
Jan.	22-25	Arizona State University *St. Bonaventure University
Jan. 29-Feb. 1		University of South Carolina University of Colorado
Feb.	5-8	St. Cloud State University University of Nebraska
	12-15	Drake University University of Tennessee, Knoxville
	19-22	Norfolk State University Shippensburg University Grambling State University

Letter to graduates promotes the value of accreditation

The Accrediting Council has a letter template available for use by accredited schools to help promote the value of their accreditation.

Accredited schools can send the letter to their graduates, encouraging the use of "Nationally Accredited" on resumes. The letter also explains to graduates how a degree from an ACEJMC-accredited program could be advantageous in the job market. For a copy of the letter template, contact Cindy Reinardy at creinardy@ku.edu.

Leadership

President
Accrediting Council
Peter Bhatia
Edior and Vice
President for Audience
Development
Enquirer Media
Cincinnati, Ohio
(513)768-8551
peterkbhatia@gmail.com

Vice President
Accrediting Council
Paul Parsons
Dean
School of Communication
Elon University
Elon, NC
(336)278-5724
pparsons@elon.edu

Chair
Accrediting Committee
Chris Callahan,
Dean, University Vice
Provost, Walter Cronkite
School of Journalism and
Mass Communication,
Arizona State University,
555 N. Central Ave.,
Phoenix, AZ
(602)496-5012
Fax: (602)496-5116
Christopher.callahan@
asu.edu

Vice Chair Accrediting Committee Marie Hardin Dean College of Communications Pennsylvania State University University Park, PA (814)863-1484 mch208@psu.edu

ACEJMC Office

Executive Director

Susanne Shaw (785)864-3986 sshaw@ku.edu

Assistant to the Executive Director

Cindy Reinardy (785)864-7640 creinardy@ku.edu

Office Staff Cheryl Klug (785) 864-3973

cklug@ku.edu

Page 2 November 2016