Accrediting Council

On Education in Journalism and Mass Communications

Susanne Shaw Executive Director

May 8, 2018

David Glassman President Eastern Illinois University Charleston, IL 61920-3099

Dear President Glassman:

The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications met April 27-28 in Chicago and voted 21-0, with one member abstaining, that the undergraduate program in the Department of Journalism at Eastern Illinois University receive reaccreditation. Lola Burnham, professor in the Department of Journalism, attended the meeting.

The Council concurred with the recommendations for reaccreditation made by the Accrediting Committee and the site team. The next visit for the Department of Journalism will be during the 2023-2024 academic year.

Please accept my congratulations and best wishes for continued success for the Department of Journalism at Eastern Illinois University, its students, faculty and the professional media constituencies it serves.

Sincerely,

Peter Bhatia ACEJMC President

cc: Sally Renaud, chair, Department of Journalism
Lola Burnham, professor, Department of Journalism
Jennifer Sizemore, team chair
Marie Hardin, vice chair, Accrediting Committee
Chris Callahan, chair, Accrediting Committee
Susanne Shaw, executive director, ACEJMC