Accrediting Council

On Education in Journalism and Mass Communications

Susanne Shaw Executive Director

May 8, 2018

Barry Dunn President South Dakota State University Brookings, SD 57007

Dear President Dunn:

The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications met April 27-28 in Chicago and voted 21-0, with one member abstaining, that both the undergraduate and graduate programs in the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication at South Dakota State University receive reaccreditation. Lyle Olson, interim head of the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication, attended the meeting.

The Council concurred with the recommendations for reaccreditation made by the Accrediting Committee and the site team. The next visit for the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication will be during the 2023-2024 academic year.

Please accept my congratulations and best wishes for continued success for the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication at South Dakota State University, its students, faculty and the professional media constituencies it serves.

Sincerely,

Peter Bhatia ACEJMC President

cc: Lyle Olson, interim head, Department of Journalism and Mass Communication Maryanne Reed, team chair Marie Hardin, vice chair, Accrediting Committee Chris Callahan, chair, Accrediting Committee Susanne Shaw, executive director, ACEJMC