Accrediting Council

On Education in Journalism and Mass Communications

Adela de la Torre, President San Diego State University

May 12, 2022

Dear President de la Torre:

The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications met April 29 and voted 16-0, with one recusal, that the undergraduate program in the School of Journalism and Media Studies at San Diego State University receive reaccreditation.

The Council concurred with the site team and Committee recommendations for reaccreditation.

We will be in touch with the director about the next visit for the school, scheduled for the 2027-28 academic year.

Please accept my congratulations and best wishes for continued success for the School of Journalism and Media Studies, its students, faculty and the professional media constituencies it serves.

Sincerely,

Peter Bhatia

ACEJMC President

cc: Temple Northup, director
Brad Rawlins, site team chair
Marie Hardin, chair, Accrediting Committee
Patricia Thompson, executive director, ACEJMC