## **Accrediting Council**

On Education in Journalism and Mass Communications

Sheila Gestring, President University of South Dakota

May 13, 2022

Dear President Gestring:

The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications met April 29 and voted 15-0, with two recusals, that the undergraduate program in the Department of Media & Journalism receive reaccreditation. Michelle Van Maanen, chair, and Travis Loof, graduate director, attended the meeting.

The Council concurred with the site team and Committee recommendations for reaccreditation.

We will be in touch with the chair about the next visit for the school, which is scheduled for the 2027-28 academic year.

Please accept my congratulations and best wishes for continued success for the Department of Media & Journalism, its students, faculty and the professional media constituencies it serves.

Sincerely,

Peter Bhatia

**ACEJMC President** 

cc: Michelle Van Maanen, chair
David Kurpius, site team chair
Marie Hardin, site team chair and Accrediting Committee chair
Patricia Thompson, executive director, ACEJMC