## **Accrediting Council**

On Education in Journalism and Mass Communications

Carlos Andujar, Chancellor University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo

May 13, 2022

Dear Chancellor Andujar:

The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications met April 29 and voted 17-0 that the undergraduate program in the Department of Tele Radial Communication receive reaccreditation. José Soto Colón, chair, and José Fonseco, faculty member, attended the meeting.

Council members expressed concerns about the noncompliance on Standard 7 (Resources, Facilities and Equipment), but concurred with the site team and Committee recommendations for reaccreditation. The next site team will pay particular attention to improvements on Standard 7.

We will be in touch with the chair about the next visit for the school.

Please accept my congratulations and best wishes for continued success for the Department of Tele Radial Communication, its students, faculty and the professional media constituencies it serves.

Sincerely,

Peter Bhatia

**ACEJMC President** 

cc: José Soto Colon, chair
Joe Foote, site team chair
Marie Hardin, site team chair and Accrediting Committee chair
Patricia Thompson, executive director, ACEJMC