## **Accrediting Council**

On Education in Journalism and Mass Communications

Susanne Shaw Executive Director

May 8, 2017

Ashish Vaidya Interim President St. Cloud State University 720 Fourth Ave. South St. Cloud, MN 56301-4498

Dear President Vaidya:

The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications met April 28-29 in Chicago and voted 19-2, with three members abstaining, that the undergraduate program in the Department of Mass Communications at St. Cloud State University receive reaccreditation. Dale Zacher, chair of the Department of Mass Communications, and Mark Springer, dean of the College of Liberal Arts, attended the meeting.

The Council concurred with the recommendations for reaccreditation made by the Accrediting Committee and the site team. The next visit for the Department of Mass Communications will be during the 2022-2023 academic year.

The Council discussed the non-compliance with Standard 9: Assessment of Learning Outcomes in the undergraduate program.

Please accept my congratulations and best wishes for continued success for the Department of Mass Communications at St. Cloud State University, its students, faculty and the other professional media constituencies it serves.

Sincerely,

Peter Bhatia ACEJMC President

cc: Dale Zacher, chair, Department of Mass Communications Mark Springer, dean, College of Liberal Arts Joe Foote, chair, site team Chris Callahan, chair, Accrediting Committee Susanne Shaw, executive director, ACEJMC