Accrediting Council

On Education in Journalism and Mass Communications Patricia Thompson Executive Director

May 2023

Accreditation decisions were made for 32 programs at 26 schools by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC) during its April 28-29 meeting in Chicago.

ACEJMC accredits 119 schools in the United States and other nations. The Council conducts voluntary reviews for schools with professional journalism and mass communications programs at the undergraduate and master's degree levels.

The Council reviewed 26 undergraduate programs, three of which were international; six professional master's programs; and three revisits of schools with provisional accreditation.

The following undergraduate programs were removed from provisional after successful revisits and reaccredited:

- Hampton University, Scripps Howard School of Journalism and Communications
- Jacksonville State University, Department of Communication
- University of Idaho, School of Journalism and Mass Media

The following schools received reaccreditation of undergraduate and professional master's programs:

- Louisiana State University, Manship School of Mass Communication
- Syracuse University, S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications
- University of Alabama, College of Communication and Information Sciences
- University of Maryland, Philip Merrill College of Journalism
- University of North Texas, Frank W. and Sue Mayborn School of Journalism
- University of South Florida, Department of Journalism and Digital Communication

The following schools received reaccreditation of their undergraduate programs:

- Ball State University, School of Journalism and Strategic Communication
- California State University, Chico, Department of Journalism and Public Relations
- California State University, Northridge, Journalism Department
- Howard University, Cathy Hughes School of Communications
- Murray State University, Department of Journalism and Mass Communications
- North Carolina A&T State University, Department of Journalism and Mass Communication
- Texas Christian University, Department of Journalism

- University of Arkansas, School of Journalism and Strategic Media
- University of Southern Mississippi, School of Media and Communication
- University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Department of Journalism,
- West Virginia University, Reed College of Media
- Western Kentucky University, School of Media

The following international schools received reaccreditation of their undergraduate programs:

- Massey University, Journalism Major, School of Communication, Journalism, and Marketing
- Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, School of Journalism
- University of Sharjah, College of Communication

The following schools received provisional reaccreditation:

- Bowling Green State University, School of Media and Communication
- Iowa State University, Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication

In other business, the Accrediting Council elected Cheryl Procter-Rogers, executive coach and associate director for Ernst & Young's America Coaching Practice, to a three-year term on the Accrediting Committee.

The Council re-elected two Accrediting Committee members to three-year terms: Diana Martinelli, dean of Reed College of Media at West Virginia University, and Al Stavitsky, dean of the Donald W. Reynolds School of Journalism and Center for Advanced Media Studies at the University of Nevada, Reno. Both had completed their first three-year terms and were eligible to serve second terms. Earlier this year, the Council elected Committee member Rafael Lorente, associate dean at the University of Maryland who will become dean of the Philip Merrill College of Journalism on July 1, as Committee vice chair, and elected Kenn Gaither, dean of the Elon University School of Communications, to a three-year Committee term.