Accrediting Council

On Education in Journalism and Mass Communications

May 8, 2023

Don C. Killingsworth, President Jacksonville State University

Dear President Killingsworth:

The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications met April 28 in Chicago and voted 17-0, with one recusal, that the Department of Communication at Jacksonville State University receive reaccreditation. Chris McCollough, head, and Teddi Joyce, associate professor, attended the meeting.

The Council concurred with the revisit site team and Committee recommendations for reaccreditation.

Thank you for the opportunity to participate with your faculty and administrators in the assessment of your program. The goal of the Accrediting Council is to improve the quality of education offered to students served by a program through that assessment. Please accept my congratulations and best wishes for success for the Department of Communication, its students, faculty and the professional media constituencies it serves.

Sincerely,

Ol Gallova/

Del Galloway, ACEJMC President

cc Chris McCollough, Head Joel Kaplan, revisit site team chair Marie Hardin, chair, Accrediting Committee Patricia Thompson, executive director, ACEJMC