## **Accrediting Council**

On Education in Journalism and Mass Communications

May 9, 2023

Neal Smatresk, President University of North Texas

Dear President Smatresk:

The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications met April 28 in Chicago and voted 16-0, with three recusals, that the undergraduate program at the Frank W. and Sue Mayborn School of Journalism at the University of North Texas receive reaccreditation, and voted 16-0, with three recusals, that the professional master's program receive reaccreditation. Andrea Miller, dean, attended the meeting.

The Council concurred with the site team and Committee recommendations for reaccreditation.

Thank you for the opportunity to participate with your faculty and administrators in the assessment of your program. The goal of the Accrediting Council is to improve the quality of education offered to students served by a program through that assessment. Please accept my congratulations and best wishes for success for the Mayborn School of Journalism, its students, faculty and the professional media constituencies it serves.

Sincerely,

Of Glove

Del Galloway, ACEJMC President

CC

Andrea Miller, Dean Shirley Staples Carter, site team chair Marie Hardin, chair, Accrediting Committee Patricia Thompson, executive director, ACEJMC