Accrediting Council

ACEJMC’s member associations represent educators and professional practitioners.

The Accrediting Council is composed of representatives of professional and educational organizations, and up to three public members. The Council president is a non-voting member.

The Accrediting Council meets twice a year. It considers accrediting decisions at a meeting in the spring; the fall meeting is devoted to policies and other considerations. The Accrediting Council makes all final accrediting decisions.

Peter Bhatia, President, ACEJMC
Editor and Vice President

Detroit Free Press and free.com
160 W. Fort St.
Detroit, MI 48226
peterkbhatia@gmail.com
(Term expires 2019)

Sonny Albarado
Projects Editor
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
121 E. Capitol Ave.
Little Rock, AR 72201
(501)244-4321
salbarado@arkansasonline.com
Representing Society of Professional Journalists

Cristina Azocar
Chair
Department of Journalism
San Francisco State University
1600 Holloway Ave.
San Fransisco, CA 94132-1722
(415)338-2663
cazocar@sfsu.edu
Representing Association for Education
in Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2020)

David Boardman
Dean and Professor
Klein College of Media and Communication
Temple University
334A Annenberg Hall
2020 North 13th St.
Philadelphia, PA 19122
(215)204-4822
dboardman@temple.edu
Representing American Society of News Editors

Lorraine Branham
Dean
S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications
Syracuse University
215 University Place
Syracuse, NY 13244
(315)443-2302
lbranham@syr.edu
Representing the Association of Schools of Journalism
and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2020)

Michael Bugeja
Professor
Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication
Iowa State University
118 Hamilton Hall
Ames, IA 50011-1180
(515)294-4342
bugeja@iastate.edu
Representing Association for Education
in Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2019)

Jerry Ceppos
Professor
Manship School of Mass Communication
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
(225)578-9294
jceppos@lsu.edu
Representing American Press Institute

Dale Cressman
Associate Professor
School of Communications
Brigham Young University
360 BRMB
Provo, UT 84602-6404
(801)422-1686
cressman@byu.edu
Representing American Journalism Historians Association

Lucinda Davenport
Director and Professor
School of Journalism
Michigan State University
404 Wilson Road, Room 305
East Lansing, MI 48824-1212
(517)353-6430
ludavenp@msu.edu
Representing Association for Education in Journalism
and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2021)

Charles Davis
Dean
Henry W. Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication
University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602
(706)542-1704
cndavis@uga.edu
Representing the Association of Schools of Journalism
and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2019)

Peter Debreceny
Strategic Communications Consultant
1512 N. Hoyne Ave.
Chicago, IL 60622
(312)391-5927
peter@peterdebreceny.com
Representing Arthur W. Page Society

Joe Foote
Dean Emeritus
Gaylord College
University of Oklahoma
395 W. Lindsey
Norman, OK 73019
(405)413-3972 Fax: (405)325-7565
jfoote@ou.edu
Representing Broadcast Education Association

Rochelle Ford
Dean
School of Communications
Elon University
2850 Campus Box
Elon, NC 27244
(336)278-5724
rford9@elon.edu
Representing Public Relations Society of America Inc.

Constance Cannon Frazier
Chief Operating Officer
American Advertising Federation
1101 Vermont Ave. NW, Suite 500
Washington, DC 20005
(202)898-0089 Fax: (202)898-0159
cfrazier@aaf.org
Representing American Advertising Federation

C. Del Galloway
Vice President – Communications
Wells Fargo – Atlantic Region
1750 H St., NW
Washington, DC 20006
(202)380-8050
del.galloway@wellsfargo.com
Representing Public Relations Society of America Inc.

Robert Hernandez
Associate Professor of Professional Practice
USC Annenberg School of Journalism
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0281
(213)740-1940
r.hernandez@usc.edu
Representing National Association of Hispanic Journalists

Herbert Lowe
Lecturer, Department of Journalism
Director, Summer Media Institute
College of Journalism
University of Florida
P.O. Box 118400
Gainesville, FL 32611
(352)294-1399
loweh@ufl.edu
@herbertlowe
www.herblowe.com
http://www.linkedin.com/in/herbertlowe
Representing National Association
of Black Journalists

Judy Oskam
Director and Professor
School of Journalism and Mass Communication
Texas State University
601 University Drive
Old Main Building 102
San Marcos, TX 78666-4684
(512)245-2656
oskam@txstate.edu
Representing the Association of Schools
of Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2021)

Judy Phair
President
PhairAdvantage Communications, LLC
8421 Cherry Laurel Court
Laurel, MD 20723
(240)786-6624 or (202)903-3227
jphair@PhairAdvantage.com
@judyphair
Representing Public Relations Society of America Inc.

Greg Pitts
Director and Professor
School of Journalism and Strategic Media
Middle Tennessee State University
1301 E. Main St., MTSU Box 64
Murfreesboro, TN 37132
(615)898-2195
greg.pitts@mtsu.edu
Representing Broadcast Education Association 

Bey-Ling Sha
Acting Associate Dean
College of Professional Studies and Fine Arts
San Diego State University
5500 Campanile Drive
San Diego, CA 92182-4561
(619)594-0641
bsha@sdsu.edu
Representing Association for Education
in Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2021)

Dan Shelley
Executive Director
Radio-Television Digital News Association
National Press Building
529 14th St. NW, Suite 1240
Washington, DC 20045
(212)246-0398
dans@rtdna.org
Representing Radio-Television
Digital News Association

Jennifer Sizemore
vice President, editor-in-chief Starbucks Newsroom
Global Communications
Starbucks Coffee Company
2401 Utah Ave. S.
Seattle, WA 98134
(832)563-0253
Jennifer.Sizemore@gmail.com
Public Member
(Term expires 2020)

Andrea Tanner
Director
School of Journalism and Mass Communications
University of South Carolina
800 Sumter St.
Columbia, SC 29208
(803)777-3244
atanner@sc.edu
Representing the Association of Schools
of Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2020)

Amy Webb
Founder
Future Today Institute
2446 Mountain Road
Pasadena, MD 21122
(267)342-4300
amy@futuretodayinstitute.com
Public Member
(Term expires 2021)