Accrediting Council

ACEJMC’s member associations represent educators and professional practitioners.

The Accrediting Council is composed of representatives of professional and educational organizations, and up to three public members. The Council president is a non-voting member.

The Accrediting Council meets twice a year. It considers accrediting decisions at a meeting in the spring; the fall meeting is devoted to policies and other considerations. The Accrediting Council makes all final accrediting decisions.

Last update 10-02-17

Peter Bhatia, President, ACEJMC
Editor and Vice President

Detroit Free Press and free.com
(313)222-6873
peterkbhatia@gmail.com
(Term expires 2019)

Paul Parsons, Vice President, ACEJMC
Dean
School of Communications
2850 Campus Box
Elon University
Elon, NC 27244
(336)278-5724
Fax: (336)278-5734
pparsons@elon.edu
(Term expires 2019)

Sonny Albarado
Projects Editor
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
121 E. Capitol Ave.
Little Rock, AR 72201
(501)244-4321
salbarado@arkansasonline.com
Representing Society of Professional Journalists

Cristina Azocar
Chair
Journalism Department
San Francisco State University
1600 Holloway Ave.
San Fransisco, CA 94132-1722
(415)338-2663
cazocar@sfsu.edu
Representing Association for Education
in Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2020)

Clark Bell
201 E. Chestnut St.
Chicago, IL 60601
(312)622-1284
clarkwbell@gmail.com
Public Member
(Term expires 2018)

Dorothy Bland
Dean, Frank W. and Sue Mayborn School of Journalism
Director, Frank W. Mayborn Graduate Institute
University of North Texas
1155 Union Circle, 311460
Denton, TX 76230-5017
(940)565-4917
dorothy.bland@unt.edu
Representing Association for Schools
of Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2020)

David Boardman
Dean and Professor
Klein College of Media and Communication
334A Annenberg Hall
Temple University

2020 North 13th St.
Philadelphia, PA 19122
(215)204-4822
dboardman@temple.edu
Representing American Society of News Editors

Douglas A. Boyd
Professor of Communication
Department of Communication
University of Kentucky
248 Grehan Building
Lexington, KY 40506-0042
(859)257-7809 Fax: (859)257-4103
boyd@email.uky.edu
Representing Broadcast Education Association

Katherine A. Bradshaw
Associate Professor
Department of Journalism and Public Relations
Kuhlin Center
Bowling Green State University
Bowling Green, OH 43403
(419)372-2542 Fax: (419)372-0202
kabrads@bgsu.edu
Representing American Journalism Historians Association

Lorraine Branham
Dean
S.I. Newhouse School
of Public Communications
215 University Place
Syracuse, NY 13244
(315)443-2302
lbranham@syr.edu
Representing Association for Schools
of Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2020)

Michael Bugeja
Professor
Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication
Iowa State University
101 Hamilton Hall
Ames, IA 50011-1180
(515)294-4342
bugeja@iastate.edu
Representing Association for Education
in Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2019)

Laura Castañeda
Professor of Professional Practice
Annenberg School for Communication & Journalism
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0281
(213)821-0762
lcastane@usc.edu
Representing National Association of Hispanic Journalists

Jerry Ceppos
Dean
Manship School of Mass Communication
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
(225)578-9294 Fax: (225)578-2125
jceppos@lsu.edu
Representing American Press Institute

Charles Davis
Dean
College of Journalism and Mass Communication
University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602
(706)542-1704
cndavis@uga.edu
Representing the Association of Schools of Journalism
and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2019)

Peter Debreceny
Strategic Communications Consultant
1512 N. Hoyne Ave.
Chicago, IL 6062
(312)391-5927
peter@peterdebreceny.com
Representing Arthur W. Page Society

Joe Foote
Edward L. Gaylord Chair
Gaylord College
University of Oklahoma
395 W. Lindsey
Norman, OK 73019
(405)325-5997 Fax: (405)325-7565
jfoote@ou.edu
Representing Broadcast Education Association

Rochelle Ford
Chair/Professor of Public Relations
S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications
Syracuse University
Room 318, Newhouse 3
215 University Place
Syracuse, NY 13244
rlford@syr.edu
(315)443-9347
Representing Public Relations Society of America Inc.

Constance Cannon Frazier
Chief Operating Officer
American Advertising Federation
1101 Vermont Ave. NW, Suite 500
Washington, DC 20005
(202)898-0089 Fax: (202)898-0159
cfrazier@aaf.org
Representing American Advertising Federation

Don Grady
Associate Dean
School of Communications
2850 Campus Box
Elon University
Elon, NC 27244
(336)278-5667 Fax: (336)278-5734
gradyd@elon.edu
Representing Association for Education
in Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires: 2018)

Mark Hass
Professor of Practice in Strategic Communications
Walter Cronkite School of Journalism
and Mass Communication
Arizona State University
555 N. Central Ave.
Phoenix, AZ 85004
(917)283-7180
mark.hass@asu.edu
Representing Public Relations Society of America
Inc.

Jackie Jones
Newsroom Consultant
(Jones Coaching LLC)
6500 7th Place NW
Washington, DC 20012
(202)291-5959 or (202)271-6890
jjones5647@aol.com
Representing National Association
of Black Journalists

Judy Oskam
Director and Professor
School of Journalism and Mass Communication
Texas State University
601 University Drive
San Marcos, TX 78666-4684
(512)245-2656
oskam@txstate.edu
Representing the Association of Schools
of Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2018)

Carol J. Pardun
Professor
School of Journalism and Mass Communications
University of South Carolina
800 Sumter St.
Columbia, SC 29208
(803)777-9572 Fax: (803)777-4103
pardunc@mailbox.sc.edu
Representing the Association for Education
in Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2018)

Judy Phair
President
PhairAdvantage Communications, LLC
8421 Cherry Laurel Court
Laurel, MD 20723
(240)786-6624 or (202)903-3227
jphair@PhairAdvantage.com
Representing Public Relations Society of America Inc.

Dan Shelley
Executive Director
Radio-Television Digital News Association
National Press Building
529 14th St. NW, Suite 1240
Washington, DC 20045
(212)246-3872
dans@rtdna.org
Representing Radio-Television
Digital News Association

Amy Webb
Founder
Future Today Institute
2446 Mountain Road
Pasadena, MD 21122
(267)342-4300
amy@futuretodayinstitute.com
Public Member
(Term expires 2018)