Accrediting Council

ACEJMC’s member associations represent educators and professional practitioners.

The Accrediting Council is composed of representatives of professional and educational organizations, and up to three public members. The Council president is a non-voting member.

The Accrediting Council meets twice a year. It considers accrediting decisions at a meeting in the spring; the fall meeting is devoted to policies and other considerations. The Accrediting Council makes all final accrediting decisions.

Peter Bhatia, President, ACEJMC
Editor and Vice President
Detroit Free Press and freep.com
160 W. Fort St.
Detroit, MI 48226
peterkbhatia@gmail.com
(Term expires 2022)

Dale Cressman, Vice President, ACEJMC
Associate Director
of Student Learning
Associate Professor
School of Communications
Brigham Young University
360 BRMB
Provo, UT 84602-6404
(801)422-1686
cressman@byu.edu
(Term expires 2022)
Representing American Journalism Historians Association

Sonny Albarado
Projects Editor
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
121 E. Capitol Ave.
Little Rock, AR 72201
(501)244-4321
salbarado@arkansasonline.com
Representing Society of Professional Journalists

Cristina Azocar
Associate Professor
Department of Journalism
San Francisco State University
1600 Holloway Ave.
San Francisco, CA 94132-1722
(415)338-2663
cazocar@sfsu.edu
Representing Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires: 2020)

David Boardman
Dean and Professor
Klein College of Media and Communication
Temple University
334A Annenberg Hall
2020 North 13th St.
Philadelphia, PA 19122
(215)204-4822
dboardman@temple.edu
Representing News Leaders Association

Jerry Ceppos
Professor
Manship School of Mass Communication
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
(225)578-9212
jceppos@lsu.edu
Representing American Press Institute

Lucy Dalglish
Professor and Dean
Philip Merrill College of Journalism
University of Maryland
2200D Knight Hall
7765 Alumni Drive
College Park, MD 20742
(301)405-8806
dalglish@umd.edu
Representing the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2022)

Lucinda Davenport
Professor
School of Journalism
Michigan State University
404 Wilson Road, Room 305
East Lansing, MI 48824-1212
(517)353-6430
ludavenp@msu.edu
Representing Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2021)

Charles Davis
Dean
Henry W. Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication
University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602
(706)542-1704
cndavis@uga.edu
Representing the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2020)

Peter Debreceny
Vice President, International
Page Society
1512 N. Hoyne Ave.
Chicago, IL 60622
(312)391-5927
peter@peterdebreceny.com
Representing Arthur W. Page Society

Del Galloway
Vice President – Communications
Wells Fargo – Atlantic Region
1750 H St., NW
Washington, DC 20006
(202)380-8050
del.galloway@comcast.net
Representing Public Relations Society of America Inc.

Michel Haigh
Professor
School of Journalism and Mass Communication
Texas State University
601 University Drive
Old Main Building 102
San Marcos, TX 78666-4684
(512)245-7238
mmh204@txstate.edu
Representing Broadcast Education Association

Denise Hill
Assistant Professor
School of Communications
Elon University
Schar Hall 208D
2850 Campus Box
Elon, NC 27244
(336)276-5753
dhill12@elon.edu
Representing Public Relations Society of America Inc.

Nance Larsen
Vice President, Integrated Marketing Communications
The STRIVE Group
3120 Denali St., Anchorage, AK 99503
(907)350-6360
nance.larsen@gmail.com
Representing Public Relations Society of America Inc.

Herbert Lowe
Lecturer, Department of Journalism
Director, Summer Media Institute
College of Journalism
University of Florida
P.O. Box 118400
Gainesville, FL 32611
(352)294-1399
loweh@ufl.edu
@herbertlowe
www.herblowe.com
http://www.linkedin.com/in/herbertlowe
Representing National Association of Black Journalists

Greg Luft
Chair and Professor
Department of Journalism and Media Communication
Colorado State University
C-244A Clark Building
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1785
(970)491-1979
greg.luft@colostate.edu
Representing the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2020)

Judy Oskam
Director and Professor
School of Journalism and Mass Communication
Texas State University
601 University Drive
Old Main Building 102
San Marcos, TX 78666-4684
(512)245-2656
oskam@txstate.edu
Representing the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2021)

Greg Pitts
Director and Professor
School of Journalism and Strategic Media
Middle Tennessee State University
1301 E. Main St., MTSU Box 64
Murfreesboro, TN 37132
(615)898-2195
greg.pitts@mtsu.edu
Representing Broadcast Education Association

Tom Reichert
Dean
College of Information and Communications
University of South Carolina
800 Sumter St., Room 240B
Columbia, SC 29208
(803)777-4105
reichert@sc.edu
Representing Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires: 2022)

Laura Roha
Manager, Education Services
American Advertising Federation
1101 Vermont Ave. NW
Suite 500
(After October: 1101 K St., NW, Suite 420)
Washington, DC 20005
(202)898-0089
lroha@aaf.org
Representing American Advertising Federation

Bey-Ling Sha
Dean
College of Communications
California State University, Fullerton
2600 Nutwood Ave., Suite 450
Fullerton, CA 92831-5461
(657)278-3355
bsha@fullerton.edu
Representing Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires: 2021)

Dan Shelley
Executive Director
Radio-Television Digital News Association
National Press Building
529 14th St. NW, Suite 1240
Washington, DC 20045
(212)246-3872
dans@rtdna.org
Representing Radio-Television Digital News Association

Jennifer Sizemore
vice president, editor-in-chief
Starbucks Stories
Global Communications
Starbucks Coffee Company
2401 Utah Ave. S.
Seattle, WA 98134
(832)563-0253
Jennifer.Sizemore@gmail.com
Public Member
(Term expires 2021)

Amy Webb
Founder
Future Today Institute
2446 Mountain Road
Pasadena, MD 21122
(267)342-4300
amy@futuretodayinstitute.com
Public Member
(Term expires 2021)