The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC) is the agency responsible for the evaluation of professional journalism and mass communications programs in colleges and universities.

View ACEJMC accredited programs, their accreditation status, their reported student performance information (retention and graduation data), and accreditation site team reports beginning with the 2013-14 academic year and thereafter.

Pat Thompson named ACEJMC Executive Director

Pat Thompson will become the executive director of the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications July 1. Thompson will succeed Susanne Shaw, who has been executive director of ACEJMC for more than 30 years and will retire June 30. View the full announcement by Accrediting Council President Peter Bhatia and the executive director search committee.

2017-18 Accreditation Decisions

Accreditation decisions were made April 27 in Chicago for 20 schools by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC). ACEJMC accredits 118 schools in the United States and outside the country. View  Accreditation Decisions.

Bhatia, ACEJMC president, named McGruder Award recipient

Peter Bhatia, Detroit Free Press Editor and president of the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications, received the 2018 Robert G. McGruder Distinguished Award by Kent State’s School of Journalism and Mass Communication and the Division of Diversity, Equity. The award was named in honor of the late Robert G. “Bob” McGruder, the Detroit Press’ first black executive editor. McGruder Award Speech

2018-19 Accreditation Site Visits

2018-2019 Accreditation Site Visit Schedule
Eleven schools will have accreditation visits and one school will have a revisit in the 2018-19 academic year. ACEJMC invites comment by third parties, limited to written comment speaking directly to a unit’s compliance with the Council’s published accreditation standards. Comments may be sent to Susanne Shaw, ACEJMC’s executive director, at

Guidance to Site Team Chairs
Aug. 30 letter from ACEJMC President Peter Bhatia to site team chairs on evaluating Standard 3: Diversity and Inclusiveness, and Standard 9: Assessment of Learning Outcomes.