Accrediting Committee

The members of the Accrediting Committee meet once a year to review the reports of on-site observations submitted by site visit teams. The Committee examines the reports thoroughly and makes recommendations for accrediting actions. The recommendations are forwarded to the Accrediting Council, which makes all final accrediting decisions.

The Accrediting Committee has 15 members. The Accrediting Council President serves as an ex-officio voting member of the Committee.

Marie Hardin, Chair, Accrediting Committee
Donald P. Bellisario College of Communications
Pennsylvania State University
201 Carnegie Building
University Park, PA 16802
(Term expires 2024)

Andrew Alexander
Visiting Professional
Scripps College of Communication
Ohio University
54 Pophams Ford Road
Sperryville, Va. 22740
(Term expires 2025)

Cristina L. Azocar
Department of Journalism
San Francisco State University
1600 Holloway Ave.
San Francisco, CA 94132-1722
(Term expires: 2024) 

Peter Bhatia
Editor and Vice President
Detroit Free Press and
160 W. Fort St.
Detroit, MI 48226
(Term expires 2025)

Michael Cherenson
Executive Vice President
Public Relations
SCG Advertising & Public Relations
100 S. Jefferson Road, Suite 204
Whippany, NJ 07981
 Mobile: (973)919-6228
(Term expires 2024)

George L. Daniels
Associate Professor
College of Information and Communication Sciences
The University of Alabama
Box 870172
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0172
(Term expires 2025) 

Jackie Jones
School of Global Journalism & Communication
Morgan State University
1700 E. Cold Spring Lane,
Baltimore, MD 21251
Office: (443)885-3502
Mobile: (202) 271-6890
(Term expires 2024)

Helen Katz
Executive Vice President, Research
Publicis Media
35 W. Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL 60601
(Term expires 2023) 

Gracie Lawson-Borders
Dean and Professor
Cathy Hughes School of Communications
Howard University
300 Bryant St. NW
Washington DC
(Term expires 2025)

Rafael Lorente
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Master’s Program Director
Philip Merrill College of Journalism
University of Maryland
Office: (301)405-1084
Mobile: (202)841-2375
(Term expires 2024) 

Diana Martinelli
Reed College of Media
West Virginia University
511 University Ave.,
Morgantown, WV 26506-6010
(Term expires 2023)

Diane McFarlin
Dean Emeritus
College of Journalism and Communications
University of Florida
(Term expires 2024)

Al Stavitsky
Donald W. Reynolds School of Journalism
and Center for Advanced Media Studies
University of Nevada, Reno
MS 310
1664 N. Virginia St.
Reno, NV 89557-0310
(Term expires 2023)

Joseph Tateoka
Vice President, Global Learning & Development
111 N. Canal St., Ste. 1100
Chicago, IL 60606
(Term Expires 2024)